Turning it Over

Pittflyguy

Pittflyguy

I am a relative novice to tying fresh water flies. I have been tying some wooly buggers but wanted it to ride hook point up. In salt I have always used weighted eyes to do so. I have heard mixed opinions about weighted eyes spooking Carp (which is what I was fishing for).

Does anyone have any suggestions on the best way to get a bugger or other fly to ride hook point up but still have a natural/match the hatch type of presentation? I tied some with a wing like on a crazy charlie but am wondering if they are going to look at it as "foreign" to what they might normally eat.

Thanks for the help!

Pitt,

I''ve been tying some buggers this week with beadchain eyes, and they look pretty natural for a bugger? Not sure what hatch the bugger represents other than small minnows or stonefly nymphs. Another thing you can try is to fold a piece of lead/tin wire so both halves are the length of the shank and tie it onto the top of the hook, should ride hook up without the heavy eyes. You can also combine this style with a cone/bead head for added weight to get the fly down for "muddin" carp.

JH

I can't think of any way to make them ride hook point up except weighting the opposite side of near the eye of the hook. Bead chain works and doesn't add that much weight.

ffj's suggestion may work but you'll either a straight or down turned eye.

If you decide on using the bead chain approach, look for them at home improvement stores. There are some interesting bronze shades there that might make some nice additions to buggers.

If you bend the hook and strategically place the lead weight the hook will ride off the substrate. EX: if bent down (like a caddis curve) and you tie the weight on the top of the hook near the front of the fly, the fly should turn overa dn ride upside down. If you bend the hook up and use lead at the front the fly should prop up and rest on its head (like a feeding bait fish).