Tippet Rings

Baron

Baron

Who uses tippet rings and what size should I use for 0x-2x.

If it is for streamer fishing why not just go to a micro swivel? I use them for bass and steelhead on 2X leaders with success.

A week or two ago, I figured i'd give tippet rings a shot. I picked up a pack from Bass Pro, i'm not sure what size they are.

I fished with them on 3 separate outings now for about 9-10 hours total.

My overall impression is that they have their place. They save me time & my leader. I cut my leader back to where it began to get thicker, tied on the tippet & what ever length 5X I wanted (Throwing dry dropper)

Prior I found myself not changing flies as much because I didn't want to chop down on my leader or tie more knots. But with the tippet rings, I just cut off and retie if it's too short with no worries of adding extra knots.

Although I'm a professional :) when I get a tangle I also dont spend 10 minutes unraveling it, hack it off and retie. Back to fishing in 2 minutes.

When I'm fishing in the Pads I tend to use streamers of on sort or another and I tend to switch allot . I sort of use them as searching patterns and when I finally get one that works I stick with it until it stops working on an average afternoon, say 6 hrs or so) I may use a dozen of my favorite flies. I felt like the tippet ring would save me allot of leaders, make me more consistent and help me recover during tangles just like Dusty, above.
Atf, while I use the micro swivels when Spinning I don't see the need for them when FF as I haven't noticed twisting.

dustyroads85 wrote:
A week or two ago, I figured i'd give tippet rings a shot. I picked up a pack from Bass Pro, i'm not sure what size they are.

I fished with them on 3 separate outings now for about 9-10 hours total.