Tippet Rings

gulfgreyhound

gulfgreyhound

Any recommendations,pros, cons, what size for which leader,where to purchase? I have no experience in this area. GG :-?

streamsideleaders.com. Click on "Online Store" and then "Tippet Rings" at bottom of page. He tells you on that page what size ring for different sized leaders. Hope that helps

Tco sells tippet rings, just got some myself to play with. They only had the one size, hope your eyes are good. They're kinda small. ;-)

Love 'em. Just one thing, tie one on while it's still on the little clamp they come on, makes things a hell of a lot easier.

I've been using tippit rings for a while now. I used to put a small loop in the end of my leader and then connnect the tippet with a loop to loop connection in order to keep the leader formula in tact as the tippet broke off or was cut down. When the tippet gets too short I replace it. That system was imporved remarkably by the addition of a tippet ring. I've used them for dry fly fishing, nymphing, streamer and steelhead fishing with good results across the board. As mentioned above, youll need to keep them on the clamp or put them on a safty pin when tying them to the leader to give you something to pull on.

I buy mine from Feather Craft. They size them based on line size. Safety pin is definitely necessary to manage on stream.

I use knots. They cost less and are harder to drop.

Tippet rings are great.

I have just recently started using the tippet rings. I really like them. I am easily able to tell when the tippet section needs replaced and I don't need to use up a couple inches of the next leader section to tie the knot. I tied up a few leaders and just left off the tippet. I will add whatever tippet I need at that time.