tippet ring set-up?

C

coyote

I'm new to all of this, but I'm wondering what the benefit is to cutting off two feet of a 9 ft. leader to add the tippet ring.

anything wrong with adding the tippet ring to the end of the whole leader and adding additional tippet material to that to attach the fly?

thanks!

coyote wrote:
anything wrong with adding the tippet ring to the end of the whole leader and adding additional tippet material to that to attach the fly?
thanks!

You could certainly do this but that would, in effect, increase or double the length of your tippet and it may wind up too long and might cast or perform poorly.

The idea behind a tippet ring is that is is a link between the tippet and the next thicker/stronger section of your leader. The advantage of the TR is that it is easier to tie a new length of tippet to a ring rather than tying a blood knot or some similar difficult knot that would be used to connect two ends of monofilament.

appreciate the reply, Dave_W.

so, about two feet should be cut off a 9 foot leader, is that about right?

Another good approach is to buy a 7 1/2 foot leader that is tapered to 3x.

Use this as your base leader. Attach the tippet ring to end.

Then add tippet to the tippet ring to suit the conditions and fly you are using.

For fishing streamers and big weighted stonefly nymphs, just add some 3x. You shouldn't go lighter than 3x for streamers.

For moderately big flies, have 4x coming off the tippet ring.

For medium sized flies, add 4x to the tippet ring, then tie on 5x as your final tippet.

(I use 5x as a final tippet size more than any other size, and I think that is true of most flyfishers for trout in PA.)

For small stuff, use 4x, 5x, then 6x as your final tippet.

coyote wrote:
appreciate the reply, Dave_W.

so, about two feet should be cut off a 9 foot leader, is that about right?

Yes, pretty much.
Most trout fishing tippets are about two feet. It depends. There's no hard and fast rule for tippet length.