Thread problem?

jreichel

jreichel

When I am tying with 0/8 thread it keeps breaking as I'm wrapping. I'm not sure if it's to much pressure ( I don't think I can lessen the pressure and keep materials in place ) or the bobbin cutting it or just old thread ( I inherited my thread and it is probably ten years old ). It's all Uni-thread brand. Is there a better i.e. stronger brand?

I'm currently using 0/3 cause its the only other size that I inherited and it's OK but smaller flies can get a bit bulky if I'm not carefully!
Are there other sizes I should be getting? Is there a fly size to thread size rule of thumb or formula?

I'm fairly new to tying so any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Jeff

Check the bobbin tip for abrasions...most common problem...could be old thread too...have to buy another spool to be sure...monocord is stronger if you are using regular thread...

Is the bobbin holding the thread spool too tightly? The other suggestions are more likely culprits, but if the spool is tightly held and the thread won't come off without a strong tug, you may be putting too much pressure on the thread without realizing it. If you think this is the case and you are using the bobbins with two prongs (like a stethescope), you can probably lessen the tension by stretching the prongs a bit-- emphasis on "a bit." You don't want to over-stretch it because then you won't have enough tension. You can't go back!

They make ceramic bobbins to correct the "sharp edges" problem. That said, I'm still on my first old bobbin. It's probably similar to the one you have because the same used to happen to me all the time. I found that buying better quality tying thread, as well as keeping a slightly longer piece of working thread helped.