The rod that means more to me than most

pabrookie94

pabrookie94

First I would like to introduce myself; my name is Jordan and I am a student at California University of Pa. I am sure that many of you have seen me post on a few things before but today I would like to tell you about something that means a lot to myself and will hopefully soon mean a lot to the person who will be receiving it, my father.

A long time ago, or so it seems to me, I received my first fly rod for Christmas. It was a scientific anglers 5 weight rod from Walmart that I instantaneously fell in love with. I couldn't wait to get out there and try it out. Over time I slowly put more and more fish on the end of my line when one day, snap. The tip of my rod had broken off after I had just buried it into the asphalt while on my bicycle. I thought, oh no what am I gonna do! Well of course my dad had the solution, he said "use mine" until you get a new one. Well of course being about 11 I eagerly accepted because I had never seen him fly fish before. It turns out that it was not because he did not like it but because with myself and brother playing 3 different sports and driving me to work, he simply didn't have the time. Getting older now, yes I'm only 20, I have realized how much he would've loved to fish rather than stand at the fence of my practices but he never did.

Well I did use his fly rod, a lot, and then one day I broke it. I was horrified. I didn't know what I was going to do. But that rod meant merely nothing to him as he had received it as a present and it barely had left the box. He then told me stories of how much he used to fly fish and how much he loved it. For graduation I received an Orvis access combo that I treat as though it were my first born. So now it is my time to give him his back, somehow.