The bane of my fly tying existence

sniperfreak223

sniperfreak223

well, every one has the one technique that they hate...for me, it's spinning and clipping deer hair...I mean, look how terrible this Irresistible Wulff came out :-( So, time to fess up, folks what's the bane of your fly tying existence?

Attachments

• irresistiblewulff.jpg
    irresistiblewulff.jpg
    58.3 KB · Views: 31
Not the best picture but it looks like a pretty decent spun deer hair body to me. Maybe my own need improvement! Believe it or not, as fundamental as it is, I don't think I've ever really mastered a nice looking, proportional turkey feather wing case on my nymphs. I'm not good at throat hackle on smaller nymphs. Calf body hair wings or posts on dries - avoid at all costs. Usually wimp out and go with poly yarn. Give me some time and I'll come up with some others.

hair wings on drys and spun hair clipped

where the hair comes from on a deer has a big effect on how the fly turns out..

My nightmare is full dressed salmon flies, I do them but just don't look right all the time..

where the hair comes from on a deer has a big effect on how the fly turns out..

My nightmare is full dressed salmon flies, I do them but just don't look right all the time..

HACKLE......Hackle eludes me and frustrates me more than anything, Second would be wings on wets...just cant seem to keep em in one piece...

Spinning deer hair. Hackle, wing cases on nymphs. You know what fly tying in general is itself is my bane. But I love it

I had issues with the wings on wets too. Now I coat them with head cement before I clip em off the feather and I tie a full loop of thread around them before tightening the thread. It helps, some still come out lookin crappy, but I dont care. I still fish em. I struggle a little with throat collars, just cant get my fingers in the right place to tie em down.