Textured fly lines

D

dryflyguy

Time for me to get a new 5 weight fly line.
I've been using Airflo Ridge for about the last 10 years now. And like them.
But am considering trying one of these shark skin, wave or whatever lines. Orvis even has one called hydros.

Have read reviews about how well they cast.
But also some negative points:

They're noisy going through the guides.
You can cut you fingers if you're not careful.
They wear out fast.

Another thing I wonder about - seems to me that all that texture would hold a lot of dirt. And probably be rather tough to clean.

Any thoughts?

dryflyguy wrote:
Time for me to get a new 5 weight fly line.
I've been using Airflo Ridge for about the last 10 years now. And like them.
But am considering trying one of these shark skin, wave or whatever lines. Orvis even has one called hydros.

Have read reviews about how well they cast.
But also some negative points:

They wear out fast.

Another thing I wonder about - seems to me that all that texture would hold a lot of dirt. And probably be rather tough to clean.

Any thoughts?

Hey DFG,

My favorite lines for trout fishing are the Orvis Hydros HD, aka a textured line.

To address your inquiry/concerns above:

Noisy?....Don't even notice it at all. Not a big deal to most anglers.

Hurt fingers?....The HD line (made by Sci Anglers and owned by Orvis) is unlike the old SA shark skin line. The texture is more like the dimples on a golf ball. It doesn't hurt your fingers, in fact it's advantage is that it is less slippery when you strip in line.

Durability?....They seem to last longer than my conventional lines have in the past.

Hold dirt?.....Not a problem. In fact, I have to clean them less than conventional lines. Also they float well. I always cleaned my lines when they begin to sink, but the HD lines seem to float longer between cleanings. I believe the dimples form tiny pockets of air when on the water, allowing them to float better.