Susquehanna switch/spey?

Troutbum1994

Troutbum1994

Any two-handed practitioners out there that have figured out fun applications for the Susquehanna or some of it's larger tributaries? I'm very new to the concept, but curious. I've been flipping big single hand rolls at trout on the other bank for years, but I'm looking for something fun and different and sized up. I have very little two handed casting experience, but I'm willing to try anything. Chasing the grab..

From time to time I'll take my 11' 7WT switch out for bass on the rivers. I find it a mixed bag. I have struggled to find a line that matches well with the rod and I think it has guides that are too small (I built it).

Anyway, it does some things well and is especially good for roll casting nymph rigs with big strike indicators, a technique I use a lot. The long handle and two-handed style also makes it comfortable to use for long periods of time.

For poppers and distance casting, I still prefer a conventional rod.