Summer Fishing on Meadow Run

silfeid

silfeid

I've been enjoying the stunning scenery of Meadow Run in Ohiopyle State Park for as long as I can remember. I've spotted trout in some of the stream's deeper pools - below the slides and especially at Flat Rock about a mile further up - many, many times in the past, but have never ventured there with a fly rod (or any other kind) before.

I'd really like to fish this stream due to its natural beauty, place in my heart, and the fact that there are definitely large holdover trout there. My understanding though is that these holdovers are notoriously fickle and difficult to catch, and I was wondering if anyone on this forum had advice for how to do so? Unfortunately I won't be able to start fishing until the end of June (currently abroad), so I'll be fishing in the dead of summer.

I'm a novice fly fisherman, so right now my plan is pretty much to fish the deeper pools around daybreak and sunset using terrestrials and possibly olive woolly buggers. I have an 8'6" 5 weight rod, which is a little on the large side for that stream but should be workable all the same.

Has anyone fished this stream successfully in the summertime? Any tips, hints, suggestions would be most welcome. It's been my dream to catch (and release) a 14"+ trout from that stream for a long time now...

Fishing at daylight and dusk are your best times of the day and knowing where the big trout are are some of the biggest tips. Fishing right after a thunderstorm usually leaves ideal conditions. Big holdover trout are usually smart and it is more important to have a good presentation sometimes than it is what fly you are using.

Don't fly fish there very often but I would think trying to fish in the evening when there maybe some fish rising to a hatch- likely your tan caddis.

Also, fishing after a stocking would help too. Good luck, pretty stream. I've had better luck in the upper half of the stream.