Stone Fly Critic Needed

flyfishingNZ

flyfishingNZ

Hi Guys,

I have never used a stone fly dry/nymph before so I decided to not only tie my first stone flies but also to do my first weaved fly.

Not sure how they will fish, but the one I tied looked OK; a bit leggy as I used hackle.

Hook - TMC 5262 size 6
Antenna and Cercus - Tungsten stretch lace
Abdomen - Two shades of brown cotton for embroidery (Micheal's)
Body - Hare dubbing
Legs - Grey Hackle
Wing Casing - Turkey feather coated with liquid nail

Attachments

• stone fly.JPG
    stone fly.JPG
    339.8 KB · Views: 14
  • stone fly2.JPG
    stone fly2.JPG
    271 KB · Views: 3
i think brown goose biots work good for antennae and natural hares dubbing for the body , brown hackle for the legs , mottled turkey for the wing case for the brown stones , black goose biots and black dubbing for the body on the black stones but whatever works

purrty flies!.....tungsten stretch lace? never heard of it...sounds cool.

The lace I brought with me from NZ...It is basically elastic that is impregnated with tungsten powder. I have used it in the pass to add weight to nymphs that I want to have slim bodies and fast sinking.

That's a nice looking fly! Is the underside a different shade from the weave? I've never tied a weave but have been thinking about it so I would be interested to hear more about how you did it and if you found it difficult.
Mike.

i think it looks fishable the legs and thorax look a bit off color i would have used a soft mottled hen phesant or partridge but the body looks really good has nice shape to it for referances to the naturals i use www.troutnut.com just dont be too afraid of all the latin

Looks good.