Starter Vise

G

Giventoflyfish

I'm going to sign up with a local outfitter to learn how to tie flies. They require that you have your own equipment, which I was hoping was not the case. I wanted to learn a little first and understand the differences between vises. I have a few gift cards from Basspro, are any of these any good for starters?

Link To Vises

For a newbie, is it better to have just a clamp or get one that has a stand? I don't need anything that is portable.

The one in the upper left is what I started with and still use for larger flies. I like it because it can rotate and lock in any position.

Just so you know, Cabelas has the same one for $16 (bass pro = $20) and they often put it on sale for $12. If you into penny pinching, even though you have a gift certificate.

IMHO go for a vise with a base. I've been tying for over 30 years and never could get into a clamp on model and 3 of my 8 vises are c-clamps and I never use them. The overwhelming majority of the guys in our club all tye on pedestal vises. Go to a fly tying or fly fishing symposium and most of the top tyers are also using pedestal vises.

For me they're just more versatile. You can lean your elbows on your tying table/bench. Push the vise farther from you, pull it closer to you, or just move it out of the way when preparing materials. The clamp-ons just aren't as versatile for postioning them for comfort, at least for me.

But regardless of your price range under $50 or over $200 a pedestal model will be a few bucks more than a c-clamp model.