Soutwest Florida Fly Fishing

J

jpiccola

My Wife and I spend December though March in Southwest Florida south of Sarasota. I am an avid PA Fly fisherman, however, I am very new to the saltwater game. I have an 8 weight rod and saltwater setup. I tried once or twice to fish Snook from the beach with no success. Any recommendations on flies, guides, or locations in the Sarasota / Venice Florida area?

We’ve vacationed in Longboat Key for years in the summer months. Snook off the beach then was hit or miss. Always had good luck with small white flies - grassett minnows, and tan over white clousers. Early morning or late in the day.

I have found that the guys at The Compound over on Siesta Key are very helpful. Worth checking in with them.

I’ve hired a couple of guides there over the years, but no one that I would recommend. They were ok, but not great for various reasons. Part of it was not being one of their “regulars” I think played into it.

I go to Venice, which is in the Sarasota area, most February’s to visit friends. My personal experience is the saltwater fishing is not good and the surf fishing is even worse. My buddy says guides of good character don't book trips in the Venice area in February. I bait fish around the Jetty’s for sheepshead but mostly stick to freshwater bass fishing. Just watch the alligators, they like to eat the fish you hook.