Southwestern PA - New to fly

rj32s

Hey, guys! I hope everyone is thawing out.

I'm fairly new to fly fishing and live right outside Pittsburgh. I have only fished a few spots the last year or so and am looking to branch out this season. I've seen that the following are fairly close to me, within an hour or so drive:

Bull Creek
Big Sewickly Creek
Deer Creek
Pine Creek

Has anyone had experience with these and could offer some advice? So far my fishing has been limited to Slippery Rock, Neshanock, and the Yough.

Thanks, guys!

the rock and neshanock are the 2 best of the list you have. Deer and Pine are soso but do offer some relief if they are closer to you. I have not foish the other 2.

try indian, laurel hill, loyalhanna also.

give cool spring creek a shot, it's a nice lil creek right outside of Mercer, PA and it isn't that tough to find and catch the fish. do well on caddis pupa patterns there. hope tht could help out a lil

Big Sewickley Creek is probably not worth your time. It gets pounded by the bait crowd and the stockies are gone pretty quick. Its pretty much your average marginal put and take stream. I grew up a few minutes from it.

The DHALO section of Pine isn't bad. That's where I learned the basics of fly fishing. I generally consider the Laurel Highlands streams better though.

rj32s wrote:
Hey, guys! I hope everyone is thawing out.

I'm fairly new to fly fishing and live right outside Pittsburgh. I have only fished a few spots the last year or so and am looking to branch out this season. I've seen that the following are fairly close to me, within an hour or so drive:

Bull Creek
Big Sewickly Creek
Deer Creek
Pine Creek

Has anyone had experience with these and could offer some advice? So far my fishing has been limited to Slippery Rock, Neshanock, and the Yough.

Thanks, guys!

Those four streams leave a lot to be desired fly fishing wise IMO.