Smith Chromapop Glass!

Big-Bass

Big-Bass

Looks like Smith has now come out with Chromapop glass lenses to compete with Costa 580G! There are a few select colors in the Guide's Choice among other models. Hopefully, they are really nice lenses.

I really like my Smith glass lenses sunglasses (non-Chromapop) and a few years back, was on the lookout for a Chromapop lens set, until I realized that all the Chromapops were plastic and I would have been looking for quite some time. I did end up buying a pair of Chromapop sunglasses, but they overall just feel like a piece of junk; flimsier all around. Should be able to afford the closeout prices in a few years :)

I have been using the smith guide's choice for the last 3 months. I really like them. Very light weight and great clarity. Way lighter than my Maui Jims. Plus they come with a built in lanyard which doesn't slide over the end of the ear piece like most and therefore cannot be felt. I do not own an pairs of Costas yet so I cannot compare the two.

I get an email newsletter from Hatch magazine which just had a review of sunglasses for fishing. I think you can find it at www.hatchmag.com.

I have always used Cacoon fitovers, but have been considering glass prescription lenses for the added clarity. I am very nearsighted and also have prisms in my prescription which will probably make the glass lenses very heavy. Does anyone have any thoughts on the benefits of glass over plastic for clarity, and will there be a noticeable improvement going from fitovers to prescription lens?