Small Brook Trout Set-Up?

glamcaster

glamcaster

Hello there! I'm looking to get back into fly fishing after a pretty long break(total novice here). I was fixated on fly fishing until a year ago--when I relapsed into spin fishing. Currently, my only fly rod is an Orvis Clearwater 2. It's 7'9" in length, and a 5 weight. It's been fine for tooling around Valley Creek in Chesco, but not the best for smaller streams.

I mainly go for native brook trout, and I'm curious what set-up recommendations people may have. I fish a lot of creeks that you can literally jump across. The largest brookie I've caught in Pa was 11 inches...and I rarely hook browns over 12 inches. So, what do you recommend for small stream fly gear? Any ideas on rod/reel/line/leader/tippet would be super helpful!! I would also appreciate any fly recommendations :) Thanks and tight lines

I prefer a fiberglass 6’6” -7’ 3wt for small brook trout fishing . I think you would be happy with a rod in these lengths I can throw dry droppers set ups , nymphs , hoppers , wets , and micro streamers . Also glass rods are more forgiving when you fall while scampering around those small brooks . My current brook trout set up is a JP Ross beaver meadow s-glass 6’6” 3wt that I built . With a old Martin 61 reel . I don’t run expensive reels for Brookies , I have slipped wrecked a nice reel and watched friends do the same . If you are not in a hurry you could look into building your own rod . So rewarding when you land a fish on a rod you built . The pics bellow are of my current set up .

Attachments

• EE204BDE-8D98-4B22-8BCA-5106D60D350C.jpeg
    EE204BDE-8D98-4B22-8BCA-5106D60D350C.jpeg
    227.7 KB · Views: 66
  • BA1ABA29-D5F7-4270-87DD-D76319B6748C.jpeg
    BA1ABA29-D5F7-4270-87DD-D76319B6748C.jpeg
    218.5 KB · Views: 71
  • 28F9A7D3-F68C-48BE-A845-33D1DF116AD1.jpeg
    28F9A7D3-F68C-48BE-A845-33D1DF116AD1.jpeg
    217.1 KB · Views: 70
  • F0C7ACFF-94F4-40F7-B4AE-3AC719ABE3FD.jpeg