size of trout

N

notan641

I am never surprised by catching 3 or 4" brown trout over winter and early spring, but I am always surprised when catching them in september. Seems to me a brown trout should be bigger at this time of year or already have been eaten by another fish. I have read it takes 12 months to raise a hatchery trout to legal size. Thoughts?

Well, hatchery trout are intensively fed in raceways, like cattle, and would exhibit different growth patterns than wild fish. Depending on the hatchery, water temp would come into play too.

I'm no expert, but I'd venture to say that the 3-4" trout you catch in Sept through Spring are from the previous Fall's spawning. Again, temps and food supply play a role.

notan641 wrote:
I have read it takes 12 months to raise a hatchery trout to legal size.

Brown trout hatch well after the spawn, usually February or March, so the 3-4 inchers you're seeing aren't 12 months old yet. (Hatchery trout hatch faster because of warmer water. Even then, it's over 40 days after fertilization.)

Found in bottom release tailwater average temp high 40's so that makes sense to me.

When I got out of the service in the late 80's, I worked at a hatchery. Our water was spring fed and during peak temps could put 1 1/4" - 1 1/2" of growth on per month.

Those are the best ones for frying pan :p

In good wild streams it takes from 4 to 6 years for a brown to reach 14". The variation is due to many factors: variation in water temp. over the year, food, etc. That being the case, 3" to 4" over less than a year is good growth for a wild brown here in PA.