Ross Evo R

I

ICM

I'm thinking about a new reel for my 9ft 5wt. The new Ross Evo R 5/6 sounds and looks great based upon what I can determine online, but since my local shops don't have them in yet, I haven't had a chance to play with it in person. Any body see them at Somerset or Lancaster and if so, what did you think?

As a fan of the Ross reels, I don't think you can go wrong, if the weight and size is a good match for your rod. I just took a look at that one, and it's beautiful, but I have no hands-on experience with that model. I DO however, have years of using Ross reels in general, Gunnison, Colorado and a recent FlyRise (imported) on my lake 6/7 rod... I can tell you that if you have no previous experience with Ross reels, you will be pleasantly surprised - and American made beauty that works and lasts and lasts. I just bought my 4th, a leftover from the Heritage Series re-release of the Gunnison (size 1).
Mike B

While the R is a work of art, is it worth the additional $175 when compared to the LT? I'm hesitant until I see how the durability of the new model stacks up. With the manufactures trying to make things lighter and lighter, they also become more fragile. I'd hate to slip on the bank have the reel bend beyond use. It's too pretty.

I handled one and I do not like the drag knob not to mention manufacturers keep upping the diameter of their lineup. The 4/5 which was the #2 is almost 3.5". I have a few of the originals plus the LT. I agree with Kray... can't beat the LT and since it is discontinued you could get that plus a couple spools for the price of the R.