Quck easy Ties for the Pine and Slate Run???

Flyfishmedic732

Flyfishmedic732

I was wondering if anybody had any ideas for any quick and easy flies that I could attempt for an upcoming trip to the pine? I am fairly new at tying and am really working to get better at Tying. Just need a few ideas that I whip out for this trip...any ideas that might work for this crazy weather?

there is not much that is faster than a good old soft hackle.

partridge and orange,yellow and/or green.peacock and black,brown or gizzly hen.

PT and hen is good too,with a tail for a mayfly without for a caddis.

good luck!

Second the soft hackle. Easy tie that can be very effective fished within a couple inches of the surface to imitate emerging mayflies and caddis. One of my favorate flies for Pine in mid to late May is a #16-18 tan caddis emerger tied very sparsely and fished in the surface film. The fly I use is essentially a soft hackle, but fished dead drift like a dry. I has accounted for some oustanding evenings in the pool below where Cedar Run empties into Pine.

Right now these..

Attachments

• 5-23-2011 asaph 015.jpg
    5-23-2011 asaph 015.jpg
    99.3 KB · Views: 6
  • 5-23-2011 asaph 016.jpg
    5-23-2011 asaph 016.jpg
    110.5 KB · Views: 6
Great!!! Thanks....I am actually working on a bunch of soft hackles (I really like tying them) definitely will be whipping them up for the trip!!

I was just on pine tonight, all I fished we're march browns and did extremely well. Not sure when your coming but a march brown comparadun and regular hackled dun were consistent all evening.

a hares ear SH is good for a march brown hatch.you could rib it with yellow or brown floss.add a turky quill wing,or not.

What sizes are looking at out there this time of year? 12-16s?

8-16 (10-14 average)

OK great....I am heading out there the second week of May, hopefully this rain procudes something and makes the water level rise a bit!!!