Pike County Help

B

bfahy54

I am new here. My inlaws just got a house in the Masthope community this year. I see tons and tons of small streams as we are driving up that way this winter to ski. I was wondering if anyone had any insight to the area, and could point me in the right direction. Im pretty new to fly fishing as well. My brother and father love it, but I don't have much free time to go with them that often.
Thank you in advance
B

bfahy54 wrote:
I am new here. My inlaws just got a house in the Masthope community this year. I see tons and tons of small streams as we are driving up that way this winter to ski. I was wondering if anyone had any insight to the area, and could point me in the right direction. Im pretty new to fly fishing as well. My brother and father love it, but I don't have much free time to go with them that often.
Thank you in advance
B

The best place to start is the "Trout Stream Map" from the PFBC >

http://pfbc.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=65a89f6592234019bdc5f095eaf5c6ac

Click on the types of trout streams in the left hand menu (the explanation of each type of stream is detailed on the right) and zoom in on Pike County. The map will highlight the streams that are stocked (amber colored) as well as the wild trout streams (in blue and green).

The challenge will be finding areas not posted. PA Gamelands as well as state and local parks are also detailed on the map. That's a good place to start. There are plenty of streams to try your luck, although given the hot weather and low flows, take a thermometer to make sure the streams are not too warm to fish for trout (68*F / 20*C and over).

Good luck.

Welcome! Pretty sure the Delaware river is right near Masthope. Where are you coming from when visiting?

Coming from New York.
Will be there next the weekend of 7/17
We are close to the Delaware and the Lackawaxen.
I really want to try the small stream fishing rather than the big river fishing.