Penn's Creek River Journal - Daniel Shields

• Thread starter blackandgold4ever05
  • Start date
blackandgold4ever05

blackandgold4ever05

Hi everyone. I am new to FFing and recently came back to the forum since I had a move last year when I was wanting to get into FFing but had an unexpected move from Pittsburgh to my hometown in central Pa.

Now that I have re-grouped and got back on my feet here in Central Pa, I have been able to fish Penns again and how nice it is to do it FFing. I grew up near Mifflinburg and have spent many days in my youth fishing, swimming, and just hanging around Penns from the Weikert area to New Berlin area.

To the book: I just picked up this book on Amazon.com and so far it is very interesting. I think the copyright is from 1995. I don't have much else to comment about it but wondering if anyone else has read this and what you might think of it and Penns Creek itself. I keep hearing about people that come here from many states and countries. I always took Penns for granted I guess because I grew up around it. I didnt realize until the past few years just how good it is in the eyes of fly fisherman.

I own it, it's a good read. It provides an interesting background of the stream, nice photography, and a decent description of the hatches and such. But I wouldn't say there's anything earth shattering in it, it's become an occasionally used reference, nothing more, nothing less. I'm not as much of a fan of the river journal books as much as I am of the stream enyclopedia's like Landis, the tactics books like Humphreys, and the myriad of special topic books (about various bugs, tying, nature of spring creeks, etc.).