Patterns for PA and Other Questions

MD_Gene

MD_Gene

Looking for good patterns for BWO, hendricksons including their emerger type. I'm looking for the eastern types (central PA). Also, when I do dubbing, I wet my fingers with my mouth to get some traction with the dubbing material. That can't be good for you. When I tied a lot in the past I used a damp sponge. Anyone have ideas? Thanks in advance.

Gene

MD_Gene,

Save your spit and use wax on the thread. There are a number of commercial fly tying waxes, but I don't use them. I bought a wax toilet ring at Sears Hardware for a whopping $1.47. Enough wax to last 500 years. I put it in a lip balm dispenser. I previously used Overton's wonder wax, which hasn't been available for years. I recently heard that Overton was a plumber by trade. If so, what a coincidence.

bwofly.jpg

Hey Gene, I tied this bwo with white cdc because it's easier for me to see in the smaller sizes.
Tails: hackle barbs
Abdomen: Quill
Wing/thorax: cdc
It sits very low in the water and has really worked for me. The one pictured is a size 18. Have you been to a tying night with WCFF lately?Is it still on tue. night? Jack

Wow, Jack! Thanks for the o. No, I have not been to a WCFF tying evening. I moved to the Balt/DC area in 2004.
I assume you use olive green dubbing You are the "tying man"/ When some of the best tyers I know, refer to your flies as WORLD CLASS that means something/ I am referring to Tom L who you met on Penns when my name came up as a mutual friend.