Patagonia Deep Wading Jacket

stevehalupka

stevehalupka

Im torn w. this jacket...

it's light, short, and short on pocket space.

do any of you own this and have anything good to say about it?

I have no experience with this jacket but I noticed it for sale on this site:

http://www.mrfc.com/MadisonRiverShopping/SearchResult.aspx?CategoryID=4

I say go for it!

i think my latest version of their SST jacket is short and the deep wading jacket is even shorter, that said, patagonia makes the best stuff out there so you'll be getting a breathable waterproof piece of equipment for years. I'd say go for it, especially at $150 on their website, and maybe plan on getting a winter shell in time so the deep wating jacket will be a three season jacket and get another for the winter when you wade less and length / pocket space is more important. BTW - act quick if you do get it because they sell quick when on sale like that.

i am sure it is a good jacket but still not gore tex which in my opinion is the best waterproof material out there , the cloudveil gore tex is 150.00 also . nylon face material doesn't hold up to the jaggers and abuse that gore tex does either , good luck whatever u decide

well, from what I hear, c-veil is done with their fly fishing line.. in the event i need a return, i'm not dealing with it.

i have purchased the jacket from gonia already, and pathetically, it's lighter than my 50 dollar cabelas jacket. It looks prime for wet wading for natives.. i just don't get it.. a short jacket for high flows, when the majority of high flows are during cold spells.

i guess my underarmor and capiline will provide sufficient insulation, but this pocket ordeal is really getting to me.

i could really use the 150 for other equipment... blah

Yes Cloudveil is out of the fly fishing gear business, they were acquired by Spyder sometime this past year I believe. Sucks, they made some good stuff.