Orvis Clearwater Reel?

greenghost

greenghost

I simply cannot bring myself to pay more than $100 for a fly reel --
especially one used primarily for small trout. I was thinking of the Orvis Clearwater Classic (disc-drag). Does anybody out there have one? Are they worth $50 or are they overpriced composite junk?
Thanks!

Paul, I've never owned one, but from looking at them, they don't look like anything special that you couldn't get for a few bucks cheaper. One could say the same about my clearwater breathables, but I bought them with Orvis. Have you looked at the Okuma products? I've owned the Cascade LA and really like it. Drag works like Day 1 5 years later and they're about $30. The Sierra is the standard arbor product that goes for about $40, but I've no direct experience. I do trust Okuma and have needed customer service because I broke the reel foot and they were very easy to deal with.

I'm also looking into the clearwater II reel to replace my old loud POS reel. seems like this is the cheapest option though that still retains any kind of quality name. It was recommended to me by salvelinus fontinalis as a cheaper alternative than his titanium version. I'm still looking but think i may order from the evening rise fly shop to avoid shipping fees direct from orvis.

Thanks Jack,
I looked into Okuma products, but I was actually trying to support FFP by buying one of their reels. It was between the Clearwater or Battenkill. But there's even a $30 difference between those two.

I can second the okumas.

I have a Clearwater reel, and while almost any reel would work fine for smaller fish, this wouldn't be my first choice for sure. The drag gear is plastic, the reel has a crappy finish, and it's really heavy. I'd rather have an Okuma Sierra than the Clearwater.