One last fish

mattd

mattd

My wife and I got out one last time last evening. Today is her ninth month of pregnancy. Too my surprise when I got home from work she asked if I was up for a small fish. Heck Yah. With all the rain we hit a really small stream just over the mountain from me. This time of year the stream is usually really low and the fish are in the banks and in a few of the larger holes. I've been fishing the stream for 15 years now and in the spring you can catch 50 in a day. Mostly brookies with the accasional brown. I've caught brooks up to 12" and browns up to 16". About 3 years ago someone stocked the stream. I didn't fish it late last year so I don't know if they stocked it last year or not but we caught about a dozen stockers last night. The stream is not class A but it holds alot of fish for its size. I don't know who is stocking it but its not the state. It wasn't stocked in April and I don't know why someone would stock such a small stream with so many natives late in the year. We still caught plenty of native brooks and wild browns in the running water but every hole that had good depth was full of stockers. I wish I had a stringer with me but I told my brother to get up there and get the stockers out. Is there any way to find out who stocks it and who would I get in touch with to express my feelings about this. I only know a few people who fish the stream and we are all rather upset about this. Any way, it was a great fish for my wife and it helped her relax a bit. Its been 2 months for her and I really wanted to get a picture but she wouldn't let me. It's not everyday you run into a female fly fisher, and I don't think you see to many woman out who are 9 months pregnant. I married a trooper.

Well if its on private land, check with the landowner about the stocking. Don't take an attitude, just be inquisitive. If it is public land, check with the care taker, (township, state, etc)