Nymphs I: The Mayflies

R

rrt

I am about halfway through this, though I am admittedly skimming most of the taxonomic descriptions. You'd have to be a real glutton for punishment to read all of that stuff carefully and word-for-word. schweibert's stories are kind of interesting to plow through. In a book called Nymphs, many (most so far) stories deal with dry-fly fishing, esp. fishing with spinner patterns, which I have been finding ironic. Also, he seems to try to make his private-water fishing adventures, including on waters controlled by the evil empire, sound like public-water adventures, though to readers familiar with him, it is not surprising to find him fishing on private waters. As a former English teacher, I find myself amused with some of his pretentious language, such as his repeated use of the word "catholicity." Even though many of the tales are from private preserves like the empire, they can be amusing and instructive, and one can apply their lessons to real fishing on public-access waters. I also find it interesting that he often refers to Vincent Marinaro, though he notes in a footnote that Marinaro would not speak to him after schweibert's 1973 publication of the original Nymphs. And, whether you, as I do, think of him as a sellout in the mold of the becks, humphreys, and kreh, his knowledge of flies is truly encyclopedic. I think it is a true shame that he did sell out to beaver and the evil empire in his later years. So, if you can get the book as cheaply as I did (I got it for about 18 bucks and Nymphs II for less than 12 dollars), you might want to add it/them to the reference section of your fly-fishing library.

I've never been able to read much Schweibert, although I'd certainly agree he was knowledgeable and as writers within the genre go, a pretty fair wordsmith.