Nymph line

kobalt335

kobalt335

I normally nymph with my 10ft 4wt and use like a 25ft leader so my fly line isn't in the guides. This rod is due for new line anyway, so im looking at getting a dedicated nymph line. Are these worth it to help reduce sag or the hassel of such a long leader?

What would a leader setup be like when using this line? In my mind I picture like a 10ft leader down to a tippet ring.

I am very new to this type of fishing myself. Check out the website troutbitten.com there is a lot of useful information there.

Canoetripper wrote:
I am very new to this type of fishing myself. Check out the website troutbitten.com there is a lot of useful information there.

After browsing troutbitten, now I'm starting to reconsider the line. I saw alot of advantages of using the heavy mono attached to the wf fly line. I may just try either the chameleon or amnesia this season, and see where I stand after that.

A mono rig as described in Troutbitten seems easy to construct and inexpensive. My concern, with no experience using it, is with line handling. It theory, I would rather handle a thin fly line at the cork than a thin mono. Flyline seems like it would slip less, especially when wearing gloves (winter).

I'm curious to learn what others experienced using a mono rog compared to a euro fly line.

I've never used euro line however I have fished the mono rig for about 5 years and have no issues with line control. I wear fingerless gloves in winter. Being able to remove nymphing leader and use traditional fly line is a huge bonus for the mono rig. It is very versatile and extremely productive. I've caught more fish on the mono rig than any other type of fly fishing. I can not see any reason in spending the extra cash on euro line.