Newbie introduction from western PA

steveo27

Hello,

I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm Steve, I'm 28 years old,
and I'm a fly fishing newbie from western PA.

I've been fishing since I could walk but I've never fly fished before.

Recently on a weekend trout trip to Mill Creek near Clarion, my girlfriend started talking about wanting to learn to fly fish. I rolled with it and agreed it would be fun to learn. I had recently taught her how to fish with a spinning reel last year.

We have this old, old, old fly rod and reel that came from my Grandfather that I've messed with a few times just practice casting in the yard, but I've never used it in the water, so I have a basic idea of casting. I dug it out so we could practice casting.

Anywho....

After ALOT of research and reading, I ended up finding this website.

After more research, I ended up picking up a rod/reel combo from Cabella's last Friday after work. Went with a 7'6" 3 weight Cabella's Three Forks rod and a Prestige reel - seemed like a decent starter set up for a good price. I also picked up a assorted pack of "classic trout flies" to mess with until I could learn more.

Saturday, me and the old lady were on a mission to go out and spend the day getting more acquainted with fly fishing.

We ended up in Volant. The deal was if I took her to the winery, I could fish the rest of the day.

We fished the DHALO of Neshannock from the covered bridge up.

After about an hour of having nothing but creek chubs strike, I ended up hooking up with a rainbow on a stimulator fly.

914697_694005873967887_768144538_n.jpg

First trout on a fly rod. Such a rush compared to fishing with a spinning reel and live minnie.

After that fish, my girlfriend wanted to try, on her 3rd cast she hooked into another rainbow out of the same hole.

(no picture, fish flopped out of her hands before I could get my phone out)