new to the site and also new to fly fishing

J

joel

Hello, my name is joel and im from sw pa.I fished the youghiogheny river all my life with conventional tackle until about a month ago.I decided I wanted to chase the fish of 10000 casts with the fly.I have a 10wt rod and a large arbor reel.only problem I never touched a flyrod before.my brother fly fishes and self taught himself to cast but I can't seem to get it.does anyone have any tips or info on fly casting schools? Thanks joel

Hi Joel,

Welcome! A handful of us beginners also made the switch from spinning to FF this year. Many local FF clubs have training days around opening day of trout season. This time of year your best bet is hooking up on this board with someone in your area who can take you out. Sounds like a big enough rig for a Musky!

BTW, Cabellas and Orvis both have beginner FF classes but I don't know much about them.

Joel,
Welcome to the PAFF Beginner's Forum.

Your decision to learn fly fishing while pursuing muskellunge - while perfectly okay - is an unusual one. Muskies are very difficult to catch on regular gear and more so on fly gear. I've been out fly fishing for muskies several times this year and have not had a strike (will be trying again tomorrow). If I may......I'd suggest starting out with smallmouth bass. They're a blast on the fly and will help you learn the basics of casting and improve your confidence. With time, you could then start chasing muskies. Nevertheless, if you're determined to start with muskies....by all means do so. If you check our Warm Water forum, there is the Toothy Critter Success thread where some of our hard core muskie guys have posted some pics of fly caught muskies and pike.
With respect to casting, many fly shops and big box outdoor stores offer basic casting lessons.

Welcome to your new addiction.

Practice, just like anything else.