new to fly everything!

C

CAMBYSES

Hello all
I am new to the entire sport. I started fly fishing about a month ago and started tying about 2 weeks ago. I have tied about 15 flies, 5 of which are ok at best. I am mainly interested in small and large mouth flies and was wondering what hook sizes are used for these species. when I use spinning tackle I would use anything from a size 6 up to 3/0 for these fish. would it be the same for flies as well?

thanks

Bob

Sizes 8 up to 4 are probably all the bigger you need for MSB. You may go garger for LMB but I don't see the need. I catch a lot of both on just various colors of wooley buggers but poppers and leech patters are great too. Foam poppers are probably the hardest of either to tie so you shuold be able to put together a decent box in a short period of time.

Bob Clouser just released a fantastic book called Flyfishing for Smallmouth Bass in Rivers and Streams. It's a fantastic resource for you and should answer a bunch of questions in short order.

His most famous fly the Clouser Deep Minnow fishes well from 4 to 1/0, but it is tough to cast. Actually, casting any fly big enough to temp a smallmouth is going to be kind of rough.

The Clouser Floating Minnow is a really good slider. I find sliders work much better than poppers in low, clear water. The same sizes should work well.

Wooleybuggers are an excellent fly also. Try them in white, chartruese, brown (for crayfish) and black (for hellgremites and after dark).

thank you both for your posts. I have been tying poppers alot mainly because I like top water fishing more than anything I can think of :)

where can this book be purchased? Amazon? or does Clouser Have a website. if so I would rather buy direct so that the money will go to B. Clouser and not a third party seller.

thanks again

Bob