New to FF - Lititz Area

N

nomad_archer

Hi Everyone, I am new to FF and generally fishing in the Lititz area. I grew up in SW PA an moved to Lancaster County a few years ago. I am not new to trout fishing as I would bait fish a few days every year. This May I started trout fishing close to home and realized the excellent number of fishing opportunities right out my back door. I decided to take up fly fishing and took the orvis beginners 101 course which was an outstanding starting point. I picked up a 8'6" 4wt orvis clearwater rod and battenkill reel. In the two weeks I have had the rod and about 6-7 hours of fishing, I have only managed one fish but it was the most exhilarating trout I have caught in a long time. I really cant wait until the next one. I purchased a few flies at orvis based on their recommendations. I also have a few flies that were given to me or that I picked up while trying to learn to fly fish for salmon/steelhead in college. I wish I could make sense of all of the files I have. I am struggling with what to use and when. Any help or guidance in that are would be greatly appreciated. I am also always looking for some one to spend a few hours fishing with now and again. Here is what I have fly wise. I dont know if it is a good start or most of it is largely irrelevant for trout fishing is SE PA.
IMG_20160520_111155657_HDR_zpsc6k4aayy.jpg
Thanks in advance nomad

It looks like you have a pretty good starter set. The basic essential flies are hares ears, pheasant tails, wooly buggers, Griffith's gnat.

Google basic entomology for new fly fishers and you'll find lots of helpful info. You'll get info on aquatic insects and their life cycles.

Also keep in mind hatches in your local area. Caddis seem to be plentiful everywhere and I only noticed a couple caddis dries in your pictures. Terrestrials (beetles, ants, inchworms etc) are great summer flies. Tricos will be popping in a few weeks.