New member, Little Lehigh frustration....

J55tyger88

J55tyger88

Hello all,
I'm a new member and would like to say hello. I am relatively new to the sport (maybe 7 yrs or so?) and new to the area (lehigh valley).

I've been to the little lehigh many times and can not figure this stream out. The fishing back home (Indiana, PA) seems a bit different but I feel like its in my head.

I've been skunked to the point where i almost hung the fly pole up for good, but my competitive nature got the best of me, and now I am determined to get the best of this stream.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, and if anybody needs a self esteem boost and would like to go fishing...:)

Thank you in advance!!

Welcome to the board. You have definitely come to the right place. I don't personally have much experience with the LL but there are many folks who do. I'm sure you will gain some valuable insight. Good luck, the posts should be coming in!

Hi tyger - Welcome to the forum!

First - Do NOT let this stream get to you. Many, many people think this stream is tough - it's not. In fact, it's one of the easiest you'll ever fish around here.

Second - walk away from the parking areas. The fishing traffic is heaviest nearest the parking areas. The further you get from the parking lots, the better. There's 17+ miles of stream, and the majority of anglers crowd into the lower regs area. Don't be one of "Those guys".

Third - use stealth when approaching the stream. Look for insect activity, and rising fish. This stream has a healthy population of fish, and the majority are wild fish. If you find fish feeding on the surface, you know where they are, and you know they're actively feeding. Advantage YOU.

Fourth - fish early in the morning, or late in the evening. Insect activity, and hence fish activity is heaviest at these times right now. If you fish unshaded water at noon time on a sunny day, you're asking for an azz whuppin'.