New member...I'm a beginner for the second time

T

tddeangelo

Greetings all,

Brand spankin' new member...1st post.

I've been perusing the beginners forum and starting to (re)learn.

Quick background... I got into flyfishing in the mid-1990's and fished lots of cool places in the west (including Yellowstone). I did fairly well.

Each year for a while, I've been meaning to get back to it. I always had something keep me from it.

I'm currently in western PA hunting turkeys on a friend's farm and brought my trusty old Browning Diana 8'0" (not a typo) 5 wt to fish at the Neshannock. I reside in Northern Berks County (near Cabela's, if you're familiar with that store's location).

Had a ball on the first time out, no fish and not much was going on at the surface. I realized I have forgotten.....EVERYTHING.... about sub-surface fishing. Like...all of it. Wow. So here I am, a beginner, take 2. Maybe I'll get it right this time... :)

So, what do you recommend for resources targeting that aspect of the sport (admittedly quite broad)? I found that casting has been like riding a bike. I'm no artist with a flyrod, but I'm functional. Fishing dries, I feel pretty good at presentation, selection, etc.

Anything that doesn't float...I get like a deer in the headlights. What? Where? How? Ugh.

Oh, and that old Browning...? It's been with me on many adventures and has caught fish from the Little Schuylkill to the Susquehanna to Sylvan Lake in Yellowstone. On Monday (5/3), I felt a "crunnnnnch" on a back cast. The ferrule crushed when the rod flexed.

My old friend is now retired.

Since I'm near the Neshannock Creek Fly Shop, I spent a couple afternoons there and now am the happy owner of an Orvis Recon 9' 5wt. And OH MY GOSH is that a lovely rod to cast!

Now I just need to learn how to catch fish again....