Need some clarification!

M

merkyl09

Reading the language in the rule books can be frustrating sometimes as I am new to fly fishing and want to keep fishing. My brother in law and I are curious if we are limited to only fishing the waters listed in the extended season section of the rule book? Or is that only if you are harvesting fish? To me that sounds like you are limited on where you can fish if you want to keep fish. We only catch and release and love to fish small tribs and brook streams. Does anyone have any clarification on this or am I better off just contacting the fish commission and getting a solid answer from them.

You can pretty much fish anywhere year 'round, with the exception of Approved Trout Waters. ATW are closed from March 1 til the first day of Trout Season. Other than that, if you're not harvesting, have at it.

So in that language, harvest is the key word correct? I was under that impression but it wasn't something I wanted to test out without being sure.

merkyl09 wrote:
So in that language, harvest is the key word correct?

Yes.

Sasquatch is on target.

Where it gets confusing is regarding where one can fish for trout during the closed season in March on a catch and release basis.
This topic has produced many hundred of replies to dozens of threads here on this forum and comes up every year. Those of us with many years of fishing experience don't completely agree as the regs are a bit vague on this and the topic involves complicated stocking boundaries, county lines, stream classifications, and some other gray areas.

However, there is some consensus (with a few exceptions)that as long as you practice C&R and are not within the boundaries of an ATW during the closed season....you can fish for trout.