Multi-purpose 8 WT rod: suggestions

Fly-Swatter

Fly-Swatter

I have a 25 year old St. Croix Legend Ultra that I'm looking to upgrade. I've used it for bass and stripers in freshwater and reds, snook and Jacks in salt. It's pretty heavy by current standards and the modern graphite and resins are a big step up. So, I'm looking for a better (lighter, more responsive) rod to replace it.

I have a new 6WT I like for trout and smallmouth. It casts easily up to 60+ feet.

My buddy has a Loomis NRX 8 WT. It's an fantastic rod ((VERY light and loads well at all distances), but very pricy! I'd really like to keep the price under $500 (still a lot of $).

I'm not an expert caster, but I am advanced so an entry level rod will be limiting.

I plan to use my new 8 WT for rivers (bass, light musky) and light salt (inland/back waters). I'm thinking fast action with the option to overline (ie, 8.5-9 wt).

Please share any experiences and advice on the kind of rod I'm looking at.

Got a 4 piece 8wt 9 ft , Orvis TLS w fighting butt.

I use with Orvis large arbor reel. It’s probably 15 years old.

It’s not as nice to cast as my other rods but it is heavier and beefier. Good for light saltwater, steelhead , salmon, big bass.

It’s been fine, never broke. Think It was like $300 ish when I got it and came w warranty.

I’m sure there are newer better casting rods but haven’t had the need to look at any new gear for years. (Although I have been thinking of a Orvis Superfine 4wt w a Battenkill reel)

I'm considering the Recon II. I think it's at a similar level to the TLS (mid-range) but $200 more (inflation?).

I have a TLS 5 wt that I use for light bass and as a trout backup. I like it.

keep the st. croix

https://www.yellowstoneangler.com/gear-review/2020-8-weight-challenge/