Mouse fly on Penns Creek

mkile

mkile

I have been reading about mouse flies lately. Penns Creek seems like a good place to throw the mouse around. It has large brown trout and plenty of grassy banks for mice to fall from.

Has anyone had luck fishing with a mouse fly on Penns?

I have not fished them there but it will work..it will work on nearly any stream that's big enough for you to cast and strip them across the surface. I bet a brown 10" would try to eat one..you don't need to do it where there are big fish....but they help.

You might also land a decent smallie. Especially Cherry Run and south.

I never tried fishing a mouse on Penns, but I did fish them on Spring Creek when I was a student at Penns Creek many years ago, so I’d think they’d also work on Penns at the right time and place.

The first time I fished a mouse pattern on Spring Creek I was amazed at the number of large trout I caught on it. A few days later, fishing the same section, I still caught quite a few large fish, but fewer than the first time. The third time I caught fewer fish still. I gave up fishing it there a short time after that. I suspected that no one had fished a big mouse pattern on that section of the stream much, if at all, before me, and those fish just smartened up to it after falling for my fly a time or two. However, I think it’s always worth a try, especially when there are lots of mice in the area.