moderate action / bamboo

S

springer1

I've been using a 7'6" bamboo 4wt I made for a few months now - on small streams and I gotta say I like the slower action. I mean I REALLY like it.

I'm going to make an E-glass or S-glass rod as well, either a 7' 3 wt or a 7'6" 4 wt and see how that compares, if any of you have experience with the Lamiglass or Steffen blanks, please let me know.

But FWIW, if you haven't tried an alternative to all the newer fast & moderate-fast rods you might want to try something different out.

For small streams I have been using an s-glass Lamiglas 7' 3 wt. I had built about a dozen years ago. For me graphite doesn't load at the short distances encountered on small streams. I don't know how the newer Lami's compare, they are e-glass. Steffens are also s-glass and are highly regarded. You can ask questions and find a lot of information on the fiberglass flyrodders forum.

my 2 favorite small stream rods are a bamboo banty 3wt and a FH Paddock glass 3-4wt, both around 6 or 6'6" in lenght. I also love my mcfarland 7'6" yellow glass rod for "bigger" small streams.
some folks love how the slower action rods work on small waters(or bigger waters as well), some folks love how fast rods work on small waters also. it's all in how you like to cast and what works for you. I think too many people fall for all the marketing hype about rod actions and such, instead of finding out what works for them and how they like to cast.
for me, it's almost always glass or bamboo, with glass getting the edge lately.

Did you actually make the whole thing, strips and all? I'm getting the itch real bad to buy some planning forms. Just have to get quite a bit of work done in the house first.