maxima leader kit

TWEEK

TWEEK

what color is best for all around? I primarily fish small mountain streams. thanks

I twist my own with maxima chameleon up to .010 and then your favorite tippet material. I found the recipe in Borger's book but the basis is you can go down 1/3 in diameter without hinging issues.
If you google borger and leaders it should come up.

isn't the chameleon the darker line...won't the trout see it? just wondering im new at this leader tying. thanks

I've recently started tying my own leaders as well; I like them :). There are many leader formulas out there, and it is fun to play around with them.

Yes; maxima is the brown stuff. If you see hand-tied leaders sold at fly shops, the brown line you see tied into the first few sections of the leader is Maxima Chameleon.

As far as I know, the brown color of the maxima does not pose a problem. The last sections of the leader are typically tied with clear tippet material, which is less visible to the fish, and more importantly, is supple enough the help with getting draft-free drifts.

I use the brown stuff. It's just the butt and taper, you still put a few feet of clear tippet on it. Doesn't seem to bother the fish.

have used both chameleon as well as clear. does not seem to be a problem. granted. situations at times will call for a clear tippet, especially in low clear water over very selective trout. i have found that tippet after several fish have been caught seems to stretch and does not lay flat on the water. it becomes visible to the eye. this will definately reduce hook ups. replace tippet and problem is solved. does not seem to be a problem in faster water. sometimes still water can be tough with any leader.

here is a very simple midge leader 10 footer.
ty using double surgeons knot.

12 inches .013
48 inches .010
48 inches .007
12 inches .004

you may add a few exta inches on the tippet.