Looking for some guidance with casting difficulties

John96

John96

As the title says I am looking for some help. While I am not a total beginner I am still learning and thought this would be the best section to ask this question.

When I am fishing the larger limestone rivers, like the lower LJ and Penn's, I often struggle to effectively cast heavier rigs (ie. nymphs with split shot and weighted streamers) during medium to high water conditions. It is quite frustrating because I want to enjoy these great rivers, but find it difficult when I am struggling to get my fly to the fish.
I have put some thought into how to address the problem and I am wondering is my 8'6'' 5 wt. just not enough gun in those situations or is there a problem with my casting mechanics that is holding me back? (Or maybe both?!)

I am currently in a position to buy a new rod (or maybe take some casting lessons!) and have been rolling around the idea of getting a 6/7 wt for WW and steel head--and maybe trout. Do you think a heavier rod like that would help in those situations where I am struggling?

Thanks!

P.S. I realize it's hard to tell form just a forum post, but I am would still appreciate your opinions.

John96,

I am sure you will get many opinions on this one. I have been fly fishing for two years and went through the same issue last year. I have a 5 weight that wasn't getting the job done. I picked up an 8 weight and it works for me. I wanted to use larger streamers for WW fishing but my smaller rod wasn't getting the fly out far enough. With my 8 weight, I am getting the distance I was seeking in addition to casting much larger flies. I use this rod on everything from small streams to surf fishing in the outer banks.

A heavier weight rod would definitely help in the situation you describe -- heavily weight streamers and split shot can be a bit much for a 5 weight.