Looking for a Mentor in the York/Lancaster Area

N

njohnson

Hello -

My name is Nate and I live in East York. I work as an accountant for a non-profit and am 28 years old.

I am very interested in learning the basics of fly fishing via a local mentor, preferably in York or Lancaster. This is my favorite way to learn a new skill. I already have some basic equipment and flies.

So... anyone, younger or older, who is patient and willing to share some tips and go fishing with me is much appreciated!

Thank you.

Nate,

I'm certainly not a good example for a mentor by any means. I've made plenty of life mistakes god knows but I even made some for the sake of fishing more.
I'm positive I can help you out.
I'm 40, been fly fishing for 30 years, I'm self taught so I have my ways and theories. There is much to learn in this sport and it's impossible to learn it all. I'd be willing to share some of my pieces of the puzzle with you.
I don't fish as much as I used to because of 2 young kids but let's meet up sometime. I live in lancaster. I'll pm you my number.

Ditto as Sal. I don't get out as much right now, and I may not be in Lancaster much longer, but while I'm here, I'll be glad to go out fishing.

Nate,

Almost forgot. I also highly recommend you click on the events and meetups forum. Try to attend some things and mostly the spring jam. The amount of knowledge on this board is just so vast as to be amazing. You will branch out, learn new things and meet good people. The guys on this forum are very accepting and helpful in person.
I don't attend them like I should but I suppose I'm just very set in my ways and pretty reclusive.
Anyways, just a thought.

Brian

Nate,