Litte help please

smallie

smallie

I understand some , but is there a guide to which flies are used? I see the hatch charts, but like yesterday I was at the volant flyshop and asked Bob should I use drys he said nymphs. The hatch chart says bwo. Then when I look in my fly box....well its a little overwhelming. Then there is midges! Am I making it more than it is? Kinda feel lost

Hello,
I know Bob pretty well and he knows what he is doing. You really have to let the fish determine what flies to use. That's part of the process of fly fishing, trying to figure out what the fish are eating, and how fussy they are. Newly stocked fish are a little less particular about what they eat, and as a result, easier to catch. When fish get really fussy, there will be fish in different parts of the stream eating totally different bugs, or maybe a different stage in the hatching process of the same bug. I have been doing this for over 30 years and it still can be overwhelming at times, that's part of the fun. Spend a little money in Bob's shop and listen to what he has to say, he can help you catch more fish.

smallie wrote:
Am I making it more than it is? Kinda feel lost

You are, and you don't have to. Relax, you'll get to that point where you'll seek out complexities because you'll want to know more, but you don't have to.

Dry flies are easiest, its yea big and that shade? Find something thats close as you can, and fish the crap out of it. Eventually you'll learn it was a BWO, and then you'll learn again it was an emerging dun, and then you'll be able to cover that with 2983028 different patterns with subtle differences in design of the wing. Or, you'll just fish the crap out of that yea-big-that-shade fly.