Lemon Rod

B

booktrout

I hate to admit it, but I started the new fishing year, today, by breaking the tip section of my St Croix, Imperial, 8.5’, 5wt, 4pc. Not only that, but I snapped the same rod in its butt section last fall. Neither break seemed “right” to me. In other words, I didn’t feel like I stressed the rod sufficiently to break it. I’m no expert, but I have broken other rods “right” and I think I know what it should feel like.

I bought the rod on ebay and chose the St Croix because it was in my price range and they offer a good replacement guarantee even to secondhand owners. They did indeed replace the butt section last fall for $25 plus shipping.

My question is: Is there such a thing as a lemon rod? I can envision a case where the resin-curing oven containing this batch of blanks went a little too hot or not quite hot enough. The blanks look fine, but are just too brittle.
What do you think?

I'd say, as with any manufactured item, that it is possible to get a sub par product.

well if you replaced the butt section last year and now the tip, it won't be a lemon anymore----unless its a 4 piece !

Typically if there is a manufacturing defect in a rod, it's going to fail fast, usually on the first time out.

Since you bought the rod used, that's not to say the previous owner didn't abuse or damage the rod in some way. Alot of times when a rod fails, it was previously damaged somehow, and whatever might be currently going on causes enough addition stress to complete the previously done damage.

booktrout wrote:
Neither break seemed “right” to me. In other words, I didn’t feel like I stressed the rod sufficiently to break it. I’m no expert, but I have broken other rods “right” and I think I know what it should feel like......

.....What do you think?

Not enough details to give a solid opinion. What were the circumstances of the breaks?