Lehigh River Gorge Tactics

luke_m

luke_m

I moved to the Lehigh Valley last summer and have had some great luck fishing the smaller streams in the area and in the Poconos. I'm really looking forward to getting after some bigger fish in the gorge when flows and temps allow this summer and fall. I've hiked and biked through the gorge from Jim Thorpe quite a bit. It's gorgeous water.

I was wondering what everyone is throwing when there's not a hatch going on. Is nymphing typically the best option, or do streamers work year round? I have a lot of experience fishing saltwater for stripers, so swinging flies through bigger water is up my alley. Nymphing big water however is a weakness of mine.

Any key nymphs I should have with me when I head out there? I've seen some big caddis cases and stonefly shucks in there.

I'm generally just looking for some advice on how to best approach the river when there isn't any clear surface activity going on. I've been skunked in the gorge so far.

Luke

Welcome to the Valley Luke!
I love to fish Mauch Chunk Lake above Jim Thorpe.
Some day I'll probably fish the Lehigh but I'm not fit enough to walk on them marbles.

how is the fishing in the lake? what do you fish for usually?

I like it there. I am, as always, after Bluegills always manage a few bass and pickerel.

Flows now in the gorge are ideal as are temps. There are a bunch of ways to tackle the gorge. Now is arguably the best time.

If you like streamers by all means have at it. You should find a few interested fish who are willing to bite. Typically the larger ones.

When learning the gorge it's best to break it into say 1/2 mile sections. Walk along the trail during the evening and stop and watch the water for risers. Foam lines, shaded areas, seams, backwaters etc. This saves you time casting in non productive areas. A small pair of binoculars is helpful. When you locate a few fish ...go get em.