Leader Materials

P

podflyguy

Hi all,

I've been tying leaders for a few months now and have had good success, but am having some trouble with longer dry fly leaders. I started tying with the Umpqua kit and using LeaderCalc formulas as a guide. I wasn't happy with the stiffness in the butt section of my leaders and decided to buy some Maxima Chameleon in .024, .022, .020, and .017 (basically 40 lb-20lb). Now I'm getting a pretty nasty hinge in the taper section causing my tippet to simply pile up in a heap with the fly. I suspect the Umpqua is still too supple from .015-2x.

I'm not sure if I should continue with more Chameleon or buy some Maxima clear or what to get a better transition between segments. Anybody have a suggestion?

Thanks

KISS.

You're just trying to buy more gear to make up for a lack of knowledge, thinking there's a magic bullet that'll make it all better. Rather than do that, learn what you've got going on.

First off, sounds like the leader you're tying for a long dry fly is doing exactly what its supposed to be doing, dropping the soft tippet into a pile at the end of the extended hard leader.

Try putting aside the highly complex and somewhat easily confusing LeaderCalc spreadsheet for a couple of lines of paper:

leaders-joe.gif

Pick one of the the Harvey dry fly leaders, long the standard in the sport, and tie it exactly as presented, with whatever materials you've got. Once you see how it behaves in use, then start to modify it based on the simple principle that the stiff butt turns over and bleeds off energy in the line from the cast so that the soft, limp, section falls into a loose, pile and provides a moment or two of extra time for line/leader drag to take its effect while the fly moves at the speed of the drift.

Dear podflyguy,