lanyard

C

Canoetripper

I just got my new Lanyard from Orvis and will customize it to what little I need, which is adding the Orvis knot tying tool and some other zingers.

I have finally figured out how this tool works and love it. All I need it to do is the two surgeons knots and the new and improved clinch knot. I
now know how to tie the double davey knot without a tool, which saves me tippet since I am an expert at finding something to snag on my back casts just as well as what is on the bottom that I can't see.

I am improving at fly fishing. Getting better is part of the process. My most realistic goal is to just not put knots in my leader while I am improving my casting. I will get there sooner rather than later. I am always focused.

How many of you have also adjusted to the lanyard when you don't need a vest? I don't need another layer of clothing in this weather. I will be wet wading this weekend and the lanyard doesn't require time to dry out like a cotton vest if/when I fall in.

The Tobyhanna Creek is not an easy place to wade even with my two wading staffs.

I always fish with a lanyard. Most times I just shove a couple fly boxes in my pockets. When it's hot I use a waist pack and a lanyard. The pack is more to carry a couple bottles of water and a snack along with a few fly boxes. I find there is absolutely no good reason to carry a small fly shop around when I know i'm only going to fish a handful of patterns at most. Even during my vest wearing days many many years ago I carried very few things so there really was no transition.

I would reccomend not carrying a lot on the lanyard unless you like sore necks or the sensation of things digging into the back of your neck. I use a convertible lanyard so Most times I don't even wear it around my neck, preferring to wear the "lanyard" on my wader straps.

I hate going back to the car. Therefore, I carry a small fly shop over my shoulders and on my chest. And occasionally, a convenience store.