Kish or Honey

T

tyeager

If you had to work in Lewistown tomorrow and would be getting off at 7 pm which would you fish for an evening rise.

Keep in mind I have no experience in the area so access will have to be easy...like park and fish. I will be coming from the walmart in Lewistown.

Thanks

http://pgcmaps.pa.gov/pgcpublicviewer/

Not sure if this link will post or not. No expert about this but I've fished the Kish twice and both times I went to Reedsville and parked my car at a park or fairgrounds at the mouth of Tea Creek where it meets the Kish. Easy parking and lots of it, and the Kish is right there, no walking, no exploring. I was there in June and the Kish held plenty of trout at that location. The mouth of Honey creek is maybe a quarter mile dowstream from there.

My apologies, but my link just takes you to the PAGC mapper entrance page. I tried to link you directly to the map of reedsville, but no dice.

Honey is a great stream with easy access. I've never fished Kish. Have fun.

I think if you only have an hour or so to fish Kish is probably the better option. Tups's advise about Reedsville is the best location to park and fish. Park and walk down stream until the stream gets really tight and fish back up. Plenty of fish in that stretch and from my experiences this year, plenty of insects hatching.

I think I'd fish kish in Reedsville too. Across from the closed natural foods coop (it's right on the main road - you'll see it) is a gravel lot and whatever business is there allows people to park and walk in to fish. Park there and just head downstream like everyone said. Actually, I may be fishing kish tomorrow evening. I'm hoping to maybe see some sulphurs - I've heard the hatch can be good on that stream.

Kish has a lot of wild browns.

Which are locally referred to by the name "holdovers."

:)

troutbert wrote: