Is this one of the best years ever?

Prospector

Prospector

I've been keeping accurate records of my fish count for the last 9 years and this year is the best by a very wide margin. I have been fly fishing for over 40 years but the last 9 years I generallly fished 23-27 days annually. This year was no different. I've gone 26 times, but my catch numbers are over 2.5 times of my best year in the previous 8 years. That was 2.5 times better than my best year.

I'm sure many of you keep better records than I do. I'm curious if you are seeing the same thing.

This has been a strange year. I thought the late spring would bode well for fishing in June. Then we had the near drought that made streams very low and clear and many hatches in May were ahead of schedule making June look bleak. Then the rains came and loaded up the creeks with water and that kept temps down. So things look good again.

What is your experience?

About the same.
Worse than normal
Better than normal
Much better than normal

Also supply why you feel the year has played out this way.

I have definitely had a better than normal year, at least from very late april through early june. The grannoms were a bust(at least where I fish), but the olives, sulphurs, March browns, and cahills produced excellent fishing for me on my local west central limestoner. I had several 20+ fish days, which is above average for me.

Not keeping record here, but I'd say it has been a good trout year. . .but still not close to 2013.
I'd rate this year for me as about the same or maybe a bit above average for springtime trout fishing.

Frankly, I think we've had a bit too much of a good thing around here lately: blown out streams and muddy conditions have put the crimp on much of my fishing. As a warm water guy, I haven't even done any significant bass fishing this summer as the rivers are blown. Even the small local WW creeks near my home are still muddy.