IS THE BIG SNOW GOOD FOR TROUT

salmo

salmo

I was wondering if the recent blizzard in southeast Pennsylvania is good or bad for our streams and trout? I can see it both ways. On the plus side is the positive impact melting snow has on ground water and the water table. On the negative side are the chemicals dumped on the road surfaces to cause snow melt when they was into streams and rivers. Also rapid melting combined with heavy rain could increase siltation. My personal opinion is that the benefits slightly outweigh the negatives, but I'm no environmental expert if any kind.

I tend to agree with your balanced assessment.

Overall, a slow snow melt is a positive thing.

Interesting. On the contrary, if there is a warm front to come in and the snow melts quickly, would a really fast snow melt cause streams to be blown out? Are blowouts bad for trout or does it not matter?

Also, at one time researchers said a fast melt ran a large slug of acid water down the streams, to their detriment and to the detriment of the fish and bugs in them. Though somewhat improved, I guess, I think acid rain/snow/snowmelt is still a problem, and I hope the snow melts slowly and runs off very slooooowly.

I remember a big weather warmup in january 1996. We were having a very cold and snowy winter right before hand. Then, all of that snow melted quite suddenly. Causing lots of flooding all over the state.
And it did seem to have a negative effect on the fishing the following season.
The general consensus on this site - and several others - was that the fishing was lousy everywhere that year

3 feet of snow probably equates to around 2.5 to 3 inches of liquid or so, and unless we get a heavy rainfall, flooding shouldnt be a problem, which isn't a bad thing anyway, happens every year a few times. As far as salt and other chemicals to treat roads go, a slow melt could make that effect on streams worse, because it wouldn't be as diluted. Just my .02c.