Investment in my eyes

C

Canoetripper

I am going to be 62 next month so obviously my eyesight isn't as good as when I was 16.

Time for new glasses and contacts.

As many of you already know, masks fog your glasses. I have worn contacts since my 20's.

I have never been impressed with my Orvis Croakers so I told the woman helping me that I am a fly fisherman and wanted polarized sun glasses for fly fishing. Interestingly enough, she told me that she also fly fishes and could help me.

As a former salesman, I can't tell you how frustrating it is to deal with a salesperson when I know more about something I want to buy because of my interest and research than the salesperson.

This woman was on the ball. I ordered a pair of Maui Jim's with brown polarized lenses. These are expensive but nobody can buy new eyes. I just need them for distance and clarity. My Flip-Focals and other tools should work adequately enough for the equally challenging fly fishing frustration of tying knots with declining eyesight .

I'm 68. I was always near-sighted so tying a fly on was never a problem. A year ago I had cataract surgery. I no longer need glasses but lost my near vision so I use readers. I now discovered that you can also get MJ's with various diopter readers as a bifocal. I'm ordering a pair ASAP.

Canoetripper wrote:
I am going to be 62 next month so obviously my eyesight isn't as good as when I was 16.

Time for new glasses and contacts.

As many of you already know, masks fog your glasses. I have worn contacts since my 20's.

I have never been impressed with my Orvis Croakers so I told the woman helping me that I am a fly fisherman and wanted polarized sun glasses for fly fishing. Interestingly enough, she told me that she also fly fishes and could help me.

As a former salesman, I can't tell you how frustrating it is to deal with a salesperson when I know more about something I want to buy because of my interest and research than the salesperson.