How Long

Bruno

Bruno

So how long did it take you to feel proficient as a fly tyer ? I have been doing this for seven years now and I am just beginning to feel proficient in my skills. Which means I can notice the mistakes I make as I make them .

Within the last year or two, after tinkering with tying off and on since I was 13 or so.

I didn't become confident in my ability to tie until I took a step back and tried to demystify the whole process. Instead of trying to mimic stuff I saw, I started thinking about what makes a good fly and figuring it out on my own. I began to enjoy it more, and I began to start standardizing the way I do things, so my flies are overall better now.

Copying a pattern from a book or the internet is absolutely mind numbing for me.

I can't remember that far back, to much info over the years. to many fly patterns, to many methods.I would have to guess after 10 years I felt good enough.

When is started landing fish on the ones that I tied. When i started having confidence enough to go out and know what they were feedin on and be able to feel good enough about my tying that if i could figure them out i'd have the fly to match. I still to this day unwrap things and then re-tie till it looks "right" so............my answer would be a long time ago and Never. This year will be 50 years of doing this for me.

When I stopped worrying if mine looked as good as the store bought ones.. cause mine were catcing fish..,not as pretty but effective

Mine was a little over a year.

I tied a lot of crappy flies (that I thought were great) that first year. Now, I did tie constantly that first year, probably a few thousand flies.

The big help for me was not to follow someone else's step-by-step directions, but figure out what worked for me. Sometimes how they did things wouldn't mesh with what my fingers could do.